What I think of Screen Northants

IMG_3215.JPG

We asked one of our young people to write an entry to our new blog and this is what she came up with:

“I first heard about Screen Northants, or Reelscape as it was then, just under a year ago in the summer, when I saw a workshop going on… with exciting opportunities to be a part of a movie and meet actors. I loved the idea straight away but I let nerves get the better of me and didn’t think much of it after the summer holidays.

Then at my school we held an ‘interview day’ where I had an interview with Becky and was given a letter for their Easter workshops. In that workshop I met new people, learnt a lot about the film industry, Screen Northants and photography. Our ‘mission’ as you could say was to find places in Northampton that looked like other places from previous movies that could of been taken here (for a lot cheaper price) and places that you could shoot other genres. We ended up doing a romantic walk down Abington Park, a snippet of Billy Elliot, some daunting youths in what looked like the back end of London, a frantic chase around a deserted hospital, spies in action through the woods of an old Abbey, a few lines from Macbeth by some stone ruins and a marriage proposal!

From beginning to end I was so glad that I had that first interview with Becky and did all this. So much so, I went back to help out in the next one and became a volunteer. My first official day as a volunteer was at Screen Northants’ launch event. Fortunately for me the photographer didn’t make it so my first job was to photograph the day and Screen Northants’ new place (which looks great by the way). It was the first time that I could use my new photography skills all on my own (and for them to see if I was any good). I had never done proper photograpy before but I loved it; it was like bringing to life a new passion or an art I didn’t even know I had. That’s what Screen Northants does; they give you great experiences and opportunities, help you meet new people, enhance your skills and while they are at it give you new ones.”

We’re so chuffed! You can see what else the group said about their work here: https://youtu.be/oIS6O07O3F0

And if you think that is worth supporting then give us 20 seconds of your time and vote for us here: https://www.vmbvoom.com/pitches/screen-northants

Leave a Reply

